Alien: Crossover

I’m on an alien kick lately so hopefully you all appreciate a good extraterrestrial now and again ^^  Aliens have always been my biggest fear.  There’s something about a hostile intelligent being that isn’t quite human but still seems familiar  that terrifies me.  I used to pull the blankets over my head as a child thinking that the thin fibers would serve as an impenetrable hideout during their midnight invasions.

Everything I’m wearing is mesh.  Everything. Well, that killer gun by Utilizator isn’t but I honestly consider that a prop more than anything else.  My body, outfit, head, and hair are all mesh though!

The mesh face is new and by the creator LOGO.  I have grown pretty fond of it!  It doesn’t look like my usual characters but I think that’s a good thing.  It’s nice to have a change of pace.  The face is sculpted into one shape but the creator gave a really detailed HUD that allows you to change eyeshadow, eye color, brow color, blush, eye lashes, nose shading/texture, and even facial expressions!  At the bottom of this entry you’ll see multiple snaps of the expressions side by side.  It’s exciting to have a sculpted lip with teeth showing that doesn’t look terrible from the side.  Love that!

The only issue I have with the mesh face is that when I’m taking photographs I like to up all of my graphics and max out everything.  I personally find that this face looks best without atmospheric shaders on.  Once I flip everything on the nose tends to look wider and the nostrils look a bit jagged.  I’ve tried tons of different windlight settings to attempt to get the best results.  If you do want to shoot using the mesh face, I find that “Places Astryls Wild” without atmospheric shaders on looks fantastic.  It has a bit of a retro cartoon vibe.  The face looks like an old school pin up babe and she’s stunning ^^  (The side-by-side expressions screenshots at the end of this post have atmospheric shaders turned off.)

The mesh body/outfit is a mesh avatar set by FlexE.  The option I’m using is the clothed avatar without the head.  That way I could use the mesh head by LOGO.  It also works with the standard SL avatar head.  While I am really, really happy with the quality of this piece, I am a little sad it didn’t come with a no head option on the nude version.  I bought the avatar in world so at first I thought I was maybe just missing the headless option.  I checked online, however, and the creator, hhefestos, explains in their marketplace listing that this is because there is no way to custom match the body to the avatar’s head, but I would have loved to give it a try.  It’s one of my dreams to have a fabulous mesh body to use with my usual avatar head (or even a fabulous mesh one).  Nevertheless, I am very pleased with both my FlexE purchase and my purchase from LOGO.  It’s so exciting to see new mesh creations from talented designers and creators!

*Another photo, a video, and the style card are just beyond the cut:

LOGO Mesh Head Facial Expressions:

*click any image to see it in larger sizes.

______________________________________________________

BONUS ROUND:

If you like the look of this LOGO mesh face, check out this killer animated mesh face by Shirousagi Noel of Snow Rabbit that NWN posted about:

It’s going to be released in 2013 and I can’t wait!

______________________________________________________

Style Card: Crossover Captain

Mesh Body/Outfit: FlexE: [Tina] Full mesh avatar w/detachable head and shoulder pads and naked version.

Mesh Head: LOGO: Chloe Hybrid Mesh Avatar – Blossom

Mesh Hair: Truth: Dolly – Swedish w/Roots

Gun: Utilizator: Black Rock Shooter

~*~

Alien Avatar: Luka’s Body Shop: Xenomorph Avatar

~*~

Windlight: Orac – fog

Location: Set Built in Sandbox

Leave a Reply

